Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Internet security – how can I proetect my blog for free/cheap?
  • chakaping
    Free Member

Some suspicious activity on my WP blog – lots of new users mysteriously added.

Now deleted and I’m changing password, but it’s not the first time this has happened.

My hosting co recommended a plug-in called Sucuri but I think this is $120/year and the blog is non-commercial.

I’ve seen a few references to CloudFlare – which apparently offers a free package.

I’m not a techie though, so thought I’d ask the experts here.

🙂

Freester

Can users register? Are they automatically added or do you have to approve them first? Were the mysterious new users automatically approved?

My WP website got hacked once. My recommendation is keep the WordPress software and all plugins up to date. Create a new admin privilege user (different username to the default admin username) then get rid of the default ‘admin’ user. Make sure the admin password is STRONG and different to any other passwords you use.

Advice on the WordPress codex (possibly a bit too techy):

http://codex.wordpress.org/Hardening_WordPress

JulianA
    Free Member

Don’t know anything about WP or whether you can do any programming with it, but a simple question like ‘What is the opposite of cold?’ and a textbox for the answer might sort it out.

Alternatively could you generate two random numbers and require the sum to be entered into a text box.

Both of these assume some sort of registration process, obviously.

Simple, but spam bots shouldn’t be able to get past it…

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    chakaping
    Free Member

I should clarify, I’m talking about back end users.

chakaping
    Free Member