Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Insurance Want To Write My Car Off – Advice / Experiences Wanted
  • moonsaballoon

Last week a van pulled out on a blind corner and scraped down the side of my car ( 02 mazda 6 ) long story short the insurance company engineer called today and said the repairs are uneconomical at £1600 , i went and got a quote today for 1000 if i sourced a rear door myself .
    The total loss department are calling me on monday but i am not sure what to expect , i can keep the car and they will give me an amount to get the repairs done myself or the value of the car to replace it .
    On autotrader the car could be worth anything from 1 to 2000 but who decides the value ?
    Any advice or experiences would be welcome so when i speak to them on monday i am a bit more clued up

wwaswas

I’m not an expert but if it’s recorded by your insurers as any sort of write off (even if you buy it back from them following a pay out and repair it) any future resale value may well be lower and you may struggle to shift it when people do an HPI check.

nickjb
    Free Member

Even at £1k for the repair it’ll be pretty uneconomical as it’ll be worth at or below the bottom end of market value as a repaired write off. Only really worth doing if you pocket the cash and live with the scrape. Also reject their first offer.

nickdavies

They’ll work it on bottom book price in Glass’s guide, which is probably around 800-1000 at a guess, and want to pay you that.

Go on autotrader, find a few examples of the same car in similar condition, try and find 3 close as possible to your car, and in your area and ask for an average price showing the 3 you can get.

Shouldn’t have much trouble doing that, i’ve done it this way a couple of times. You’ll lose your excess though.

moonsaballoon