Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Inbred sizing indecision
  • TrentSteel
    Free Member

First off, first time poster long time lurker :-).

There seem to be plenty of happy On One owners here so I thought you could help.

I’m 6’ ½” with a 33” inside leg, 14 stone and 35 yrs old. I mostly ride tight, steep muddy singletrack (Clent/Walton Hills) and occasionally Cannock Chase, I’ve been riding for 6 months & current skill levels are low, but I’m generally good for a go.

I need a frame replacement for my GT Aggressor XC2 (medium 18”) which I have to admit is too small (lower back pain). After loads of looking I have settled on the On One Inbred frames due to their generous TT, low price and favourable rider opinions. BTW I’ve changed the stock fork on the GT for a 100mm Recon Race (Suntour XCR was like a pogo stick))

Like a lot of others between sizes I’m torn between getting the 18” or the 20” Inbred.

Horiz TT length:-
    GT is 22.75”.
    Inbred is 23.7” & 24.1” for the 18” & 20” respectively

My Current setup is a 120mm stem, 1” layback seat post, 660mm x 20mm riser bars, bars 1” below saddle height. This has pretty much cleared up the back pain problem so I think I’ve generally dialled in the riding position that suits me. The problem now is the long stem compromises the bikes handling and my confidence hence the frame change.

Despite only a 10mm difference, TT length wise the 20” Inbred seems like a better bet with more room to go longer, however where I ride I feel an 18” would be more manoeuvrable and give me the stand over clearance I need as a beginner (I come off a lot!).

Having no experience riding either, would the 20” inbred handle much differently to the 18” on tight singletrack? With low skill levels I thought the smaller, lower frame would be easier to move about and help me develop as a rider.

Based on my current setup I reckon I’d need at a 90mm stem on the 18” and an 80mm on the 20” inbred.

Please give me your input.