Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • iiiiiiiits Bivvy Time!
  • 40mpg

Finally cool enough to hit the woods tonight, first one this autumn. Bike’s loaded, bags packed, and i’ve got my dinky stove from go-outdoors so I can have a luxurious breakfast of instant coffee and a tin of beans & sausages!

Look out for strange lights on the hills above Winchester 😀

Can’t wait!

cynic-al
    Free Member

beans and sausages 3/10.

Otherwise have a great time 😛

40mpg

I’m new to camp cuisine. Any better suggestions?

UrbanHiker
    Free Member

I’ve always wondered why bivving season only starts at this time of year? What is wrong with all year round?

hilldodger
    Free Member

Early darkness & less tourists so is good for stealth camping,
    Less nasty bitey flies (more of a problem oop north and scotchland I gather)
    Chance to show off all that 4 season lightweight kit

UrbanHiker
    Free Member

Makes a lot of sense, cheers hilldodgeer.

Pyro

Might head out up above Otley tonight, sneaky bivvy to get an early start/sunrise pics before shooting a paddling event.

cynic-al
    Free Member

croissant/pain au chocolat revitalised over the flame?

Bacon and eggs (messy but you can clean it at home)?

hilldodger
    Free Member

I’m new to camp cuisine. Any better suggestions?

anything from

http://www.lookwhatwefound.co.uk/Page/ProductsByCategory.aspx?CatID=1

and

http://www.merchant-gourmet.com/products/cereals-grains/mixed-grains/

Neither require fridging amd both can be boileded in the bag in a few minutes then use the water for your brew 🙂

Gary_M
    Free Member

Finally cool enough to hit the woods tonight, first one this autumn

Don’t really understand why it’s temp related but have a great time anyway. Biting cold wind here though.

bloodynora
    Free Member

+1 for those ‘Look what we Found’ meals

headfirst
    Free Member

Those “look what…” meals look yummy are they a decent portion size?

binners