Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • If the ketchup debate was divisory…
  • Cougar

I’m building burgers. Being a voodoo vegetarian I have little experience of the ‘Big Mac’ et al.

I have: buns, burgers, green stuff, onions, salsa, every sauce imaginable, square “cheese”.

1) What order should they go in?

2) Buns; plain? toasted? buttered?

3) Out of interest, how would you build your perfect burger with an open cupboard of (sensible) ingredients?

Ta.

_tom_
    Free Member

I go burger, cheese, onions, lettuce, tomato then whatever sauce I fancy. Usually a bit of mayo and a tomato sauce. Don’t butter the bun it’s too greasy.

warton
    Free Member

burger, mustard, mayo. nothing else is needed

andrewh
    Free Member

Always butter the bun. Proper butter.
    Then burger, then cheese. Always cheese next to burger to allow it to melt.
    Then fried onions, again next to cheese to encourage melting.
    Other ingredients doesn’t really matter which order

wombat

You can’t beat a nicely toasted bun 😉 ….

so, Bun base, burger, cheese, onions, gherkins, tomato sauce/relish, beef tomato slice(s), mayonnaise, lettuce, bun lid.

+1 for no butter

Mister-P
    Free Member

Agreed on cheese (or pcocessed cheese slice for maximum dirtiness) next to meat to aid melting. Butter is one step too far though, filthbags.

Houns

Butter buns (not toasted) Burger, cheese, Ketchup and French’s mustard

Mister-P
    Free Member

Ketchup and mustard is for hotdogs. I learned this in Sweden.

_tom_
    Free Member

Good call on gherkins, forgot about those!

maccruiskeen

Buttered roll, Cheese next to the beef, a milkshake in a horn goblet and the whole thing served on a leather plate. With a bovril chaser.

Cougar

Interesting.

I always thought the start was ‘a bed of lettuce’. Seems that’s where I’m going wrong. (Though my foliage was rocket rather than lettuce)

All good stuff, keep ’em coming.

Also, maccruiskeen – you’re odd. Well done.

thomthumb