Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Idiotic drop bar question
  • funkmasterp

I’m pretty new to drop bars and have just purchased a pair of cowchippers. Can anybody recommend good tape for multi surface riding (bit of everything really) and what’s the best way to apply it? 😳

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

Buy some you like the sound of and give it a try.

Here’s how to wrap it

[video]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nU0gvx_2Gco[/video]

ssboggy

what’s the best way to apply it?

YouTube is your friend, plenty of videos on there.

Edit too slow!

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

To stick it on, just watch some guides on youtube, and make sure you start off the right way at the ends otherwise your hands tend to unwind it.

I got pissed off with expensive stuff (Lizzard Skins DSP, Fizik Performance classic). It wears out just like cheap stuff and costs 5x more. The DSP was nicer than anything else, and maybe worth it on a bling build or for a treat, but it’s not 5x better than the usual synthetic cork stuff.

My current tape is some 99p stuff from ebay/china. It;s not great though. I’d recommend some generic mid/low priced tape from any of the big brands.

akira

Lizard Skin DSP usual answer round my parts, most of the guys I know run it.

scotroutes

DSP. It has a slightly tacky feel to it, even when wet. That means you don’t feel you have to grip the bars so tightly and hence you get less vibration numbness.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

As above.

Bar tape shall be Lizard Skins DSP in black.

/Thread.

simondbarnes

Lizard Skins DSP here

leffeboy

In the dtf video above it looks like the tape is being wrapped in the opposite way that I would expect. Anyone else find this?

(And applauds dtf if it was deliberate 🙂 )

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member