Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 44 total)
  • I think my van is about to get expensive
  • sharkattack

VW T5 2.5 130bhp.

Two years of trouble free motoring and not a penny spent other than a pre-roadtrip service.

Last week the oil light came on and the best I could do was grab a bottle of cheap stuff from a motor disco and top up, so I did, and promptly forgot about it. Yesterday the light came on again so I went to top up and found the minging yellow grease under the cap. Not a lot, but enough. I checked the coolant and it’s gone very dark and grimey.

I’m not a mechanic but I know enough to suspect a head gasket failure. Currently procrastinating on here rather than get on with an inspection.

Feel free to speculate and throw big numbers and £ signs at me.

samjgeorge86
    Free Member

£4,400, at least…

[Disclaimer; I don’t have a T5 and I’m not a mechanic, I could be wrong on my estimate ;)]

It might be cheaper than you think, a head gasket isn’t hard to replace is it? I’ve only ever done motorbike head gaskets, and they were far from difficult.

properbikeco
    Free Member

classic signs of hgf

get it looked at asap – or trade it in!

sharkattack

Anyone want to buy a van?

onehundredthidiot

Oh dear, get it looked at as soon as. Tow it to garage if you can. Where you based? Find a good independent. It’s heading towards pricey but you might be lucky.

tmb467
    Free Member

VWs are also renowned for water pump failures

Water then leaks into the oil and makes it look like head gasket

Could be a lot cheaper now

sharkattack

If a water pump failed could it fail gradually or just go altogether? The van has never overheated. Also, would this explain what looks like oil in the coolant?

I appreciate you trying to get my price down;)

hora
    Free Member

Porous head? Hope not but Ive heard of a 1.9tdi Touran suffer from the alu? Head failing.

sharkattack

How long would a porous head take to develop? Nearly 90,000 miles by any chance?

trail_rat