Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • I think I'm gonna need a bigger hammer.
  • esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Set away to change the front discs & pads on the car this morning, hoping to get done before the rain came. No hope, discs are well & truly stuck fast & I’ve been tapping them gently with a 2lb hammer for ages & now It’s bloody raining!
    So I’ve soaked the flange (fnarr fnarr) & I’ll try again later (with a 7lb mash hammer)
    I’ve got no access to any heat for it either!

Now I remember why I’m not an actual mechanic anymore as well.

Stoner
    Free Member

just drop it off the axle stand onto the disc 😀

esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

just drop it off the axle stand onto the disc

*goes outside to drop the jack*

Cheers Stoner, I’d actually forgotten about that!

bigyinn
    Free Member

Had this in the past, just keep at it, rotating the disc through 90 deg after every ****! with the hammer.
    (You HAVE undone the disc retention screw(s) haven’t you?)

Rockhopper
    Free Member

Make sure there isn’t a small set screw securing the disk to the hub. Light taps are no good, batter it to death but watch your ears.

Stoner
    Free Member

jeez, I wasnt being entirely serious!

Id put a block of wood the right thickness under the suspension arms to catch the car before the hub hits the deck though ..

(I had assumed he’d undone the locating screw…)

Rubber_Buccaneer

Never take mechanics advice from a man without a full set of fingers 🙂

freeagent
    Free Member

They are usually stuck due to being rusted together.
    I’d just keep tapping with a smallish hammer, but rotate regularly.
    You will break the rust bond eventually.
    Give the hub a good clean and coat with copper grease before you fit the new disc.

esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Thanks everyone!

Apart from being an ex prison officer (YEEHAA!) I’m also an ex motor mechanic. 😆

However, It’s ‘quite a while’ since I did much spannering.