Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • I know there's a lot of camera peeps on here, advice please!
  • gustard_cannet
    Free Member

I’ve finally had enough of trying to get decent pics on my iPhone so I’m going to jump into getting a proper camera. Originally I was looking at the Nikon d5300 but as I’m going travelling soon I don’t really want to be dragging around a separate bag just for camera stuff….

So after endless googling and reading reviews the camera that’s taken my fancy is the Fuji XT-10 which is released later this month. I know I’m a beginner and this model seems a bit much for a first camera, but I’m one of those old fashioned people that likes to keep things and not upgrade every time a new model is released.

So then camera people, what do you reckon? Is there any other mirrorless machines I should be looking at?

I will state, I would like to have WIFI for transfers to iCloud and stuff, and interchangeable lenses for future fettling….

Cheers

Lee. 🙂

cp

Do you want an evf or are you happy using the rear LCD screen?

tragically1969
    Free Member

I have just ditched dSLR for M4/3 (Olympus OMD E-M10) and am more than happy.

I think you would struggle to buy a really bad camera now, generally go and fondle a few and see what feels best in your hands. Current top picks seem to be the OMD, the Panasonic GX7, Sony Alpha A6000 and the Fuji’s

Only thing I am finding is that battery life is pretty low with mirrorless, so factor in at least 2 spares when you decide to buy anything (plenty of clones on Amazon that are good quality)

tragically1969
    Free Member

Do you want an evf or are you happy using the rear LCD screen?

Good question that, I always think if moving from compact to M4/3 or any CSC then you probably won’t want/need one, going from dSLR to M4/3 it was the first thing on my list and why I ruled out the Panasonic as it wasn’t as good as the OMD EVF, to my eyes anyway.

gustard_cannet
    Free Member