Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 79 total)
  • I am a one in ten – compromise agreements.
  • scotabroad

Are those lyrics still relevant?

Anyway, as of yesterday its first time on the brew for me in a long long time.

I am off to see a solicitor today to discuss compromise agreements, anyone on here have real experiencs of what I should be negotiating as part of my severance/ compromise agreement. I am a senior manager so I expect the discussions to take a while and they will not be involving ACAS/ unions etc.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Would depend on the circumstances?

Hohum
    Free Member

Exit date, severance payment, confidentiality, returning the company’s property, any outstanding expenses, forfeiture of your right to taking any action against the company after you leave, etc.

I do not know what your line of work is, but if it is fairly normal then your solicitor may have a standard agreement for you and your company to use.

br
    Free Member

Blue-chip who I’d worked at for 5 years, plus decent appraisals etc.

I was on 3 months notice, but my contract stated that I couldn’t work for competitors (who were listed) for 6 months. That was my starting point.

And then any benefits that would occur in that time.

And then consider the tax (-/+) implications.

My aim was for a pay-off to equal my previous 12 months net income – which I got.

joolsburger
    Free Member

I agreed a non competitor clause for a significant uplift in severance pay after refusing their first offer. In the end after 4 years service I got around 18 months gross pay and the process took around two weeks. I was in a sales management position so the competitor thing was a big deal for them.

tron
    Free Member

Non-competitor clauses are generally viewed as unenforcable. Neat trick to get paid for one if you can!

TandemJeremy
    Free Member