Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Hydraulic brakes – can I mix up the makes of calipers and levers?
  • comerino
    Free Member

Hi all, maybe a newbie question but I have some ‘giant mph’ brakes on my xtc sx but the levers are both bust. Can I fit different levers? I’m looking to buy off net a cheap pair as money is tight??

rob-jackson
    Free Member

probs not

Northwind

Probably not, you need to match up the brake fluid type, and get a roughly equivalent piston size/volume, and you’ll need to figure out hose connections which may add cost. Also, buying levers seperately tends to be expensive.

qwerty
    Free Member

Sometimes. First thing to consider is mineral or Dot4/5 oil.

qwerty
    Free Member

PS: i have Magura LouiseFR levers & Marta SL calipers and all ok (all Magura kit but different gnarr ratings).

toys19
    Free Member

ignore the doom mongers, they are giving typical STW answers (which means I have never done this before, have no actual idea if its practicable, but I think you should hear my opinion anyway).

I’ve done it, often. So yup you definitely can, as long as they are designed to take the same type of fluid.

ie

dot4 and dot 5.1 are mixable

but dot 5 needs to be kept away from any dot 4 or 5.1 ..

Other than that, there is a theoretical variance with performance due to issues with differences in the ratio’s of the lever piston dia and the caliper piston dia, but Ihave never found it to be a problem and I doubt you will find it to be a problem.

The other issue is hose fittings, but I think superstar do after market hose kits where you can choose the fittings..

Given all this, have you considered flogging the mph’s (they fetch good money even when broken) and buying a pair of deore or avid elixir 3/5 which will probably work out even money by the time you have sourced replacement levers, sorted the hose fitting issue and spent money on brake fluid/bleed kit to get it all working..

munrobiker
    Free Member