Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • How to start and build and any other tips you have on building a dh track
  • freddiek01
    Free Member

This is in reading sulham woods. There is a good 300m squared of clear land i can use. I have some equipment but no experienced riders to help. Any rips on how to make the track. I want to have doubles and only a few berms and flat landings. Thanks in advance

mikewsmith
    Free Member

1) Get Help
    2) Make a plan and coordinate efforts (if not other riders may start digging off on a tangent from your plan)
    3) Make sure you don’t build what the land owner wont like and rip down
    4) Think about wear/erosion and drainage

Tools – can you stretch to a mini digger?
    If not shovels, pick, saw, spade, whacking thing, bars to move rocks

st

Got any pictures of the site? What sort of trail are you after? A technical DH track with off camber rots, difficult corners and some drops or wide, fast and jumpy (which is what your brief description seems to imply)

What material do you have available (good dirt) to build the table tops and berms, you’ll need lots and machinery or some good help to build it, again depending on what style and usage level you’re looking towards.

Who will be riding it, just you or will it be open to bigger groups and/or the wider public.

Sounds exciting but very little to go on at the moment.

stevomcd
    Free Member

Buy IMBA’s trail-building book. Really good.

freddiek01
    Free Member

It has good dirt. Its a pine forest and i bought one of these http://www.beepbee.com/military-car-folding-shovel-pick-with-carry-pouch-43cm-p-97922.html#.UsnV380gGSM and i have a rake it has quite afew tees and bushes but i think its council land. There are plenty of videos of the woods on youtube. It also is medium steepness.

lesgrandepotato

If you only ‘think’ it’s council land how do you know you are good to build on it? Maybe ask the question before you get stuck in?

kayak23