Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • How to create HTML email and make it look good?
  • cakefest
    Free Member

I'm a graphic designer and my skills are mostly design for print, with some basic html. i've been asked by a prospective client if i can put together an HTML email based on their corporate guidelines for an invitation to a client event.

what's the best way for me to do this? any good instructional videos/tutorials online?

currently using indesign cs3 and photoshop cs3. would i need an html editor? – suggestions?

thanks.

Pyro

It's tricky, because the HTML handling on email clients is slightly different to web browsers.

I write the HTML emails for our company, and just write the code as most of the HTML email senders/systems won't cope with more than completely basic code (HTML 4.0, nothing more fancy than that), can't use background images, and some of them have a habit of 're-intepreting' your code…

You could use something like Dreamweaver or FrontPage, but frankly that would be OTT. Be as basic as you like with code, the easiest way to get a decent layout is to build it as a table, use a banner image in the top cell to set the max width (I tend to stick to a 650px width, to keep it scroll-free on things like Outlook) and just configure your layout from there. You'll know a shedload more about the design side than I do, so I'll stop there!!

Drop me an email if you want a couple of examples – in profile. Cheers!
    Pyro

GaryLake
    Free Member

Less is more on this one usually.

druidh
    Free Member

An oxymoron?

findo_gask
    Free Member

Use a 3rd party tool such as Emma or mailchimp. This will cost a little bit of money (like 1 cent per recipient) but makes development and testing tonnes easier (and gives vastly improved tracking etc).

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member