Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • How much travel on pro pedal
  • davesmate
    Free Member

I’ve been riding MTB for quite a few years now but I’m relatively new to FS.

I’ve got a float RP2 shock and I’m using all but the last cm of travel when it’s set on pro pedal. It feels stiff while I’m riding but after a decent off road blast it’s used nearly all it’s travel, is this right?

I’m what you might call “quite a big unit” and the lads I ride with just say to pump more air into it but it’s up to about 250 – 260psi now, this seems quite a lot to me.

flippinheckler
    Free Member

Same amount as when not in pro pedal it just doesn’t react the same giving you a firm ride for climbing or fast smoothish singletrack, I often forget to flick mine off for the more knarly stuff.

z1ppy

I’m using all but the last cm of travel when it’s set on pro pedal

so you use all the travel when not on Pro Pedal?

the lads I ride with just say to pump more air into it

I’ve never heard anyone suggest setting up a shock any otherway than by the sag measurement, by all means run less sag say 20-25% rather than 30% but don’t just add air willy-nilly. Also guides for setting up shock are just that guides, they aren’t gospel, measure your sag and make adjustments based on that.

EDIT: Oh and set the shock up (measure the sag) with the propedal off.

davesmate
    Free Member

Same amount as when not in pro pedal it just doesn’t react the same giving you a firm ride for climbing or fast smoothish singletrack, I often forget to flick mine off for the more knarly stuff

ahhh I see, I thought it just stiffened up the shock and didn’t allow it to travel as far.

so you use all the travel when not on Pro Pedal?

depends what/where I’m riding but pretty much yeah.