Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • How much to build a bike.
  • toys19
    Free Member

A mate wants to get a mechanic to build his bike – its a carbon road bike, involves taking all bits off old frame and fitting to new frame.. How much?

speaker2animals

More than your mate will want to pay or a lot less than the “mechanic” is happy to earn, if he is a professional. 7 hours work?

toys19
    Free Member

7 hours blimey! My estimates must be wildly out. I had a think and I thought I could do it in three and I’m not a professional, maybe 25 n hour 75 quid? Maybe £100?

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

At least £100 IMO
    Don’t forget all new cables and set up the gears and brakes again, steerer cutting etc etc

geoffj

7 hours work?

😯

portlyone

My LBS does a special “bike build” price which is considerably less then the amount it would take if billed per hour or labour. Around £150 I think

honourablegeorge

Did the same for a mate (mountain bike) in two hours – road bike migh tbe more complicated, as the bar tape/cabling might complicate matters, but I’m far from a pro, and your mechanic shouldn’t be drinking either.

speaker2animals

Is this a new bare frame? headset in place?

Strip all of the parts off the old bike allowing for any buggerment factor and then reassemble all back on to a new frame adjust gears, brakes (cable and shoe to rim as guarantee the drop will be slightly different), clean chain and put on (or will it be a new chain/new cassette). Wrap bar tape. OK a professional could perhaps do it correctly in 5. Or maybe they are MILES better than me.

drofluf
    Free Member

I think that I paid £120 3 years ago to have a bike built up from the frame and box of bits I brought in. Would have been free if they’d supplied the parts…

geoffj

What’s the going rate for LBS spannering? £20 per hour? (that’s what the customer pays, not what the mechanic gets).

JPR
    Free Member

and your mechanic shouldn’t be drinking either