Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • How much do you have to take from 33 to leave 10?
  • MostlyBalanced
    Free Member

In Sports Direct yesterday my son found some footie boots in the clearance pile in his size for £10. When we took them to the till they came up at £33 so the cashier duly went off to confirm the £10 price but when she came back it took her and her mate a couple of minutes, interspersed with comments such as “ooh, I’m not good at maths” and resort to a calculator to work out the reduction to get the till to balance. I can’t fault their politeness and customer service but surely something’s failed somewhere along the line?
    My ten-year-old said later that he didn’t want to embarrass them by telling them the answer.

s
    Free Member

So what is the answer? 😉

nomakoman
    Free Member

69.69697% reduction 😉

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    igorl
    Free Member

Well, if they have to type in percentage discount to get from 33 to 10, it is slightly more complicated than subtracting the two.

EDIT: too late

Jamie
    Free Member

Well, if they have to type in percentage discount to get from 33 to 10, it is slightly more complicated than substracting the two.

Hey now! Let’s not let silly things like the possibility the checkout girls weren’t thickos get into the eqiti equashu ekqwashun mix!

scaredypants

burds ?

in a sports shop ?!

doing maths ?!!101

FFS

Digger90
    Free Member

There is a reason they’re cashiers in a sports shop…… likely earning close to minimum wage.

An alternate career for them would be to practise asking “Do you want fries with that?”

irc

Reminds me of the time I ordered a tumble drier at £119.99. Asked how much deposit I wanted to put on I said £19.99. The assistant then got a calculator out to tell me that would leave a balance of £100.

This was 20 years ago so standards have been slipping for a while.

daveh