Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • How hard is it to true a wheel, and what kit will I need??
  • burgatedicky

After a spectacular ‘Superman’ style exit from the bike over a jump last night I have a fairly good dish in the back wheel (I seem to remember landing on it which explains a lot!)
    I’ve never attempted to true a wheel before but have an old MBR with a guide in somewhere…
    Is it doable as a complete noob? If I do attempt it will I die?
    The hub is a pro2 laced to a WTB speedisc rim (the stock wheel from a 2007 P7)
    Thanks in advance.

johnellison
    Free Member

Depending upon how bad it is, are you sure that it can be trued?

That aside, you should’t really need much more than a spoke key – if you leave the wheel in the frame (assuming your frame has a symetrical back end) you can use use either the seat- or chain-stays as reference points.

If you can do it that way, then you’ll need a proper truing stand and possibly a dish tool as well.

It isn’t that difficult to do, you’ve just got to be slow and steady about it. The temptation is to loosen (or tighten) spokes a lot at a time, but eve 1/4 turn on each spoke can make a difference.

Whathaveisaidnow
    Free Member

tie a couple of cable ties to your stantions…

spoke key, and off you go… anti clockwise to pull the rim out, clockwise in…..i think? thats looking down at the rim from the hub…i think…lol

i got it hopelessly wrong at first and had my tyre touching the fork leg,….i was very satisfied when i got it back true, take your time….

check youtube…

PJM1974
    Free Member

Lefty-loosey, righty-tighty.

Wheel truing can be frustrating, but it’s a good skill to learn. The zip tie to the seatstays approach works well, as does taping a couple of chalks to mark the rim where it’s out of alignment. I’ve had excellent results on a long, summer evening with a glass of Adnams being slowly sipped but have had horrendous results when in a hurry and emptying a bottle of Merlot.