Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • How good are Global (Knife) Water Sharpeners….and how do you tell?
  • lodious
    Free Member

I got one for crimbo, and I think it’s ace, but chatting to a couple of guys at work, they thought that they were not as good as using a steel. Is this true, and how do you know how sharp a knife is? Is there a common test?

Milkie
    Free Member

I run a sharp knife over the top of my hand/wrist against the hairs. If it removes them, then its sharp. Or I’ll run my finger along the edge, if I feel it cutting, its sharp. I have nearly 10 years of experience doing this, I no longer cut myself too much. lol

craigxxl
    Free Member

Steels are good if you can use them right if not then you’ll do more damage than good. The Global Knife sharpner is very good but struggles on short blades.

CharlieMungus
    Free Member

Global also do the roller sharpener, much better unless you really know what you are doing with the stone.

http://www.globalknives.uk.com/range/knife-sharpening-accessories

but then again, i use a similar thing from a petrol station, for fiver, on my Global knife, it does me fine.

To test for sharpness? either cut hairs on yer arm (filthy habit), see how easily it cus the washing up sponge (winds folks up) put it on your thumbnail at an angle and see if it will slide down

breatheeasy
    Free Member

If it can cut a ripe tomato easily it’s as sharp as you’ll need.

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

If it can cut a ripe tomato easily it’s as sharp as you’ll need.

You want a tomato knife for that 😉

lodious
    Free Member

I think roller sharpener is another name for the water sharpener.

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

I’ve given up and use a bread knife for cutting tomatoes 😳

portlyone

I think the steel is to keep the edge of the blade from curling over. The wet stone is to re-sharpen.

Not sure if these ceramic contraptions do both

avdave2