Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • How big does a 3.4 m tube have to be to not bend?
  • zippykona

Need to strenghten my shop windows. We have an inch square section steel that runs vertically through the windows on the inside.
    On the rare instance that we get a north window the whole lot moves. The easiest remedy is to pay someone to put another square tube above the big windows on the outside and bolt the wood to it. It is 3.4 m across. I reckon it would have to be bloody big not to flex. It would however support the weight of the upper section making it less likely to collapse in a hurricane.
    Otherwise I will have to fit some steel at an angle to brace the inside steel.

twonks

I’m no sructural engineer, but that looks like it is close to needing proper support with an RSJ and correctly specced toughened glass etc.

Maybe there some builder types who can advise more betterer 😉

philjunior
    Free Member

The only answer here is “it depends”.

I would also want to check that the lintel above the window is adequately strong that you don’t actually need to support the load above.

It will always flex a bit, although that part does look quite puny.

zippykona

When one of the windows was smashed the repairer has his ladder propped on the centre bit. This was pre steel and it didn’t collapse.
    I did advise him that it wasn’t a good idea.
    Also when a man parked a Ducati 900ss outside on the path I did ask him not to rev it too much when he started it!

aP
    Free Member

Id have thought that a RHS vertical behind the mullion fixed to the floor and the lintel above with connection to the existing cross member would be better as it’d be shorter and allow you to fix at several points.

chickenman

50x50mm section will hardly flex over that span I’d have thought. You only need to reduce flex not eliminate it. don’t you?

spooky_b329