Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • How bad / good are Crank Brothers Headsets
  • voodoochris
    Free Member

Hi,

I’m moving a fork from a frame with an intergrated headset on to a frame that takes a traditional headset. Problem is there’s not enough steerer tube to run the headset I had planned so I’m hunting for one with a stack height of less than 24mm (real stack height, not “documented” stack height – I’ve been in shops with a ruler today, there can be up to 4mm difference!).

The only one I’ve been able to find is the Crank Brothers Directset, but I’ve seen more bad comments about these than good comments.

So, what do / did you make of them? If you had problems with them, did Crank Brothers honour the warrenty or did they play the wear and tear card (I have no experience of dealling with CB).

One thing I might look at; running a normal lower race and a Crank Brothers top race. This should give me the height I need and keep a traditional lower race. Can anyone think of a reason why this wouldn’t work?

Cheers

VC

sambob
    Free Member

AFAIK, 2pure(distributors) are very god with warranty items, so that shouldn’t an issue but as my pedals died within 6 months, i wouldn’t go near any of their kit again.

jontydewolfe
    Free Member

They rust if you look at them with moist eyeballs

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    Rorschach
    Free Member

They are’nt the most robust under british conditions tbh.If you treat them as you would a loose bearing headset (which they basically are) and regrease them regularly they should keep going o.k.Mixing top and bottom cups sounds like a winner to me.

nuke

Mines rusty

Rorschach
    Free Member

But how’s your headset…..badda boom!!!

nixon_fiend
    Free Member

The finish rusts up v.quickly

voodoochris
    Free Member

A few people have mentioned rust. Surely this doesn’t apply to the stainless ones too?

VC