Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Hope XC rear hub – can I hit it with a hammer?
  • DrRSwank
    Free Member

OK, so I'm trying to make my trusty old Patriot run a bit better and the rear wheel hasn't been spinning as freely as I'd normally like.

So today I brought a new freehub and in the bag were two bearings.

Having removed the cassette and the old freehub (which was a bit scored and knackered) I noticed the bearings in the hub do feel really gritty and rough.

How do you get them out?

Is it wrong of me to just tw@ the end of the axle with a hammer and assume they'll pop out one side and then the other?

I've never done this before so have no idea how or what tools are needed.

Ta.

snaps
    Free Member

There is a circlip inside the freehub that retains the bearing – not a good idea to ****t it.

DrRSwank
    Free Member

Ta – but I'm still assuming even after removing the circlip (which I can;t see) that they will be a tight fit.

Is it a bike shop job or is it home bodgeable?

snaps
    Free Member

I did a Bulb hub @ home the other day, remove freewheel, gently tap out the axle in opposite direction to remove non driveside bearing, in fact its easy to see here http://www.hopegb.com/voir_PXCAR_image__tgrandeimage_1.html

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

The circlip retains a bearing in the freehub body, not in the hub itself. The hub bearings are removed by hitting the end of the axle

DrRSwank
    Free Member

Top lad! That helps. But – there's 4 bearings on the picture – I am assuming that there isn't really 4 and just two?

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

It's a fairly easy to do the job at home, yes

snaps
    Free Member

Nope 4, 2 in the hubshell & 2 in the freehub

uplink
    Free Member
    DrRSwank
    Free Member

I'm being thick – the other two bearings are inside the free hub – doh!

Cheers – I'll go hitting 😉

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Theres 2 bearings in the freehub, and 2 in the hub body itself, so 4 in total

mjb