Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Hope self-dismantling hub :-(
  • simonfbarnes
    Free Member

I left my back wheel on one side in the back of someone's car today, and when I got home the cassette and freehub were hanging off, held on only by the skewer. Looking inside I found all the springs in place but 2 of the pawls missing 🙁 Not impressed! I know it often takes brutality to get the freehub off, but in fact the only retainer is an O ring on the axle…

thomthumb
    Free Member

always store/travel disc down for this very reason – I know smug hindsight is annoying! 😕

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

yeah, I shall in future – but I've been using Hope rear hubs for 8 years without this happening before!

AndyPaice
    Free Member

ring hope, they should sort you out with some pawls quickly. They're very good on customer support

el_boufador

Yep I've had this happen also

simonfbarnes
    Free Member

already bought a new set of pawls today to allow me to ride tomorrow, only to find that my finger, which I grazed, is now too stiff to bend so no ride 🙁

neil853
    Free Member

The point is though this shouldn't of happened in the first place? should freehubs just fall out? and this is common with hope hubs!

allthepies
    Free Member

Ghey!

trail_rat
    Free Member

The point is though this shouldn't of happened in the first place? should freehubs just fall out? and this is common with hope hubs!

no the point is that people shouldnt store their wheels with the free hub down ….

sorry but hope is head and shoulders above any other hub out there in terms of durability and availibility of spares …..if i have to live with silly people storing there wheels that way down then so be it – but it wont affect me as i always store my wheel with the free wheel facing up .