• This topic has 30 replies, 22 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by dab.
Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Honda Civic 2.2 diesel opinions?
  • Tom-B
    Free Member

I need a new car and had a free hour this afternoon, so went for a test drive in an 08 plated Civic 2.2 diesel. I’m a self employed musician/guitar teacher and use the car for work 5/6 days per week doing just under 20k miles a year 60% or so are on the motorway.

I need something that I can carry a few guitars, big amp and big effects pedal setup in so the tardis like Civic fits the bill. I loved how it drove, but a petrolhead I am not, I drive a Mitsubishi space star and have only really driven vans or cheap small runarounds previously-what are peoples opinions of the car? Reliability, economy, other options? I managed 47.1 mpg on the 5 mile test drive fwiw. Did I mention that I loved it?:-)

Oh an it was for sale for 8k

JohnClimber
    Free Member

I had one for 3 years and 100k miles.

The only problem was the harsh ride but I got it new with bigger alloy wheels, if the one you’re after has smaller wheels and more rubber it’s a keeper.

Don’t trust the mph, but that’s the same for all cars I guess when you’ve a heavy right foot

molgrips
    Free Member

I loved the one I test drove. If there had been cheaper ones at the dealer that week I’d be driving one now.

pedlad

Had that engine in an accord for 135000 miles. It’s a really nice engine, spins really smoothly compared to all other turbo diesels I’ve driven including the BMW I have now. It went pretty well when you give it a bit of stick too. Chain cam so no expensive belt change services too.

Tom-B
    Free Member

This one had the smaller alloys. What mpg are you chaps getting?

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

My dash is telling me that I average 49.6mpg. If you do mway miles, you’ll improve on that by a few.

youngrob