Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Home Network security advice
  • gwaelod
    Free Member

Right….I’m reasonably happy messing about with media servers and stuff, however all the things I’ve set up in the house has been self taught, and behind a firewall with no open ports to outside world.

Next year eldest iwill be off to Uni….I think it might be an idea to get her laptop backing up to our server using Crashplan or similar, as well as allowing her to access media on our server remotely (plex or something else). Might try and set up own cloud or similar too …just because. At this point I’m conscious I know virtually nothing about security when opening up ports in my router to outside world for this stuff to flow through. So where do I start learning about this stuff.?…any good resources out there?

I’ve poked about on OpenVpn website, but it’s a bit of a steep learning curve at moment…what I’m really looking for is a Dummies guide to security so I can start figuring out what risks I’m running and best way to mitigate and pick up the concepts.

Cougar

Plex is just a case of opening an inbound port on the router. Typically all outbound ports (and their inbound replies, eg web pages) are already open.

Dunno about Crashplan, I thought that used its own ‘cloud’ storage?

gwaelod
    Free Member

You can configure Crashplan as client and server, with the server bit sitting on your own headless box, and the client being outside your LAN

GlennQuagmire
    Free Member

With regards to backing up, it would be far easier and simpler to use something like Dropbox or OneDrive.

monkeychild
    Free Member

With regards to backing up, it would be far easier and simpler to use something like Dropbox, OneDrive or Google Drive.

Setup Dynamic DNS for your plex server.

Sandwich