Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Holiday Pics from Whistler (snow content) – please crit me
  • GrahamS

I was over in Whistler at the end of February and I just got around to “developing” my photos at the weekend.
    Mostly just holiday snaps, rather than high art, but here are a couple of the better ones:

More over at http://picasaweb.google.com/dalmutinet/Whistler2009

Any and all (constructive) feedback welcome! 😛

Milkie
    Free Member

Criticism: Biking forum, and there aren’t any pictures of any bikes 😆

Nice pictures, first one the snow looks over-exposed to me, but I’m no pro/am photographer, and my monitor isnt the best here at work.

Last picture is fantastic, almost looks un-real to me, or a HDR.

bikemonkey
    Free Member

What camera are you using? If a DSLR, I’d suggest the use of a polarising filter to stop a bit of the glare on the 1st and 2nd pics.

BTW, I’m ot all that good with photography, so the following posts may go against this!

GrahamS

Milkie: good point, but this is the off-topic bit 🙂

The exposure on snow is pretty tricky to get right. I usually underexpose by a 2/3 of a stop, which retains a bit of detail, but then when I process the RAW file I have to be very careful with curves to stop it getting overblown.

On the 12-bit RAW the histogram says that it isn’t overblown, but when I convert to 8-bit JPG the whites often get squashed together.

Better techniques welcome!

Last picture is fantastic, almost looks un-real to me, or a HDR.

Thanks! That’s my “arty” one. It looks better at higher res.

No HDR malarkey going on, just curves, contrast and a bit of dodge/burn.

bikemonkey: yeah it’s a DSLR (D80). I think both those pics have a polariser on already, but it is busy dealing with the sky, rather than the snow glare. Hmm… maybe I need two.. 🙂

TheSanityAssassin

All those lovely trails ruined by snow.

*sighs*

GrahamS