Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • HIFI: Wharfdal 9.1 or B&W 601 or..
  • rockthreegozy
    Free Member

My current Wharfdale speakers cost me £35- well reviewed but they were obvioussly never amazing!

So i'd like to upgrade- looking at new Wharfdale Diamond 9.1 (£100) or some second hand B&W 601 (probably s1/s2) although i'd like 602's if they were cheap..

Anyone got any opinions? Unlikely to be able to hear either/both in a shop

yunki
    Free Member

B+W

shermer75
    Free Member

Got the Diamond 9.1s, really good if you like lots of detail- works best for jazz and classical music. Lacks 'welly' tho- bit of a letdown on anything like rock or some filthy arsed d'n'b. In a word, well, civilised! 😉

B.A.Nana
    Free Member

B&W always sound very crisp, but Tannoy are my favourite for a richer sound. I have no experience of Wharedale speakers even tho they are (were) made a few miles away from my home.

neilforrow

depends on your ear… how do you like things reproduced…

KEF: crystal clear sound… quite bright

B&W: bass heavy, good depth…

Tannoy: Good all rounder..

I own a set of KEF iQ50's stunning speakers… tey looking out for some Q55#s or Q55.2's both very good and cheep on the bay'.

rockthreegozy
    Free Member

Music wise its;

Deftones
    Radiohead
    Hot Chip
    Manic Street Preachers
    Chemical Brothers
    Beth Orton
    Imogen Heap
    Queens of the Stone Age

etc

neilforrow

into the same music across the board – for me the b&w while very good speakers didnt cope with heavy stoner rock that well… bands like QOTSA and radiohead get lost in a lot of bass, and you miss all the detail that makes up their sound, hence why i went for the KEF,s. Bands like hotchip / postal service sound so crisp, the KEFs really bring out the production.

if you listen to more electronica then go for the b&w's

tannoys are great, but they are a lot of ££

simonlovell999
    Free Member

i bought a good deal at cash converters

castle isis speakers