Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 60 total)
  • HELP – WHICH STEEL HARDTAIL? SHOW ME!
  • nwill1
    Free Member

Hi, this is my 1st post.

I am new to the world of MTB, I spent 7 years riding a BMX but got a bit old for keep injuring myself going big! After a couple of years off the bike I desperately needed to get riding again.

I didn’t want to spend too much so opted for a budget hardtail (Giant XTC 4.5 £399) in case I didn’t take to 26″. I’ve since been bitten by the bug and wanted to get a bike frame more geared to what I want to ride.

I ride XC and the local trail centre (Cannock Chase), but want a bike that I can also mess around on dabbling with a bit of downhill and jumping. I want a bike that I can really through around and have general fun on.

I’ve already brought some 426 Coil Pikes for the new frame but have not yet decided on the frame, budget is about £300 (but the cheaper the better). It must be a steel hardtail as Ive decided that is the way forward.

My short list is Prince Albert, NS Society, 426 inbred and the new Decade Virtue. Any views advise welcome.

Would also like to see some pics………

Guilliano
    Free Member

No pic, but in that budget I’d go for an On One 456….. just over £200 direct from On One and as the name suggests it’s designed for a 4″, 5″ or 6″ fork. Never known a person that didn’t like the ride

theboatman
    Free Member

I’m sure there will be plenty of folk on here with PA’a and 456’s and they seem to love them. I do like the look of the NS society, probably a bit over built for XC, but I don’t recall there being that much climbing around cannock, and it looks like it will take some hammer.

firestarter
    Free Member

ive just bought a 456 to build and its lovely looks much better than the price tag suggests. Ive not finished building but will post a pic when i do. Ride wise i used to have an inbred i was very happy with so im hoping for much the same 🙂

davidtaylforth
    Free Member