Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Help needed, made a size 10 cock up !!!!!!!
  • happydaze3481
    Free Member

Hi,
    Im new to the down hill scene,
    I have come from a trials background and really fancy a change.
    True to form for me, I had a couple of beers sat in front of flea bay and purchased the worst bike known to man. A CBR super moto. I have ridden said turd and all is not good. Its a wobbly bouncy thing and i dont fancy riding that down hill let alone a curb.
    So the question I have is this.
    Can I bolt on some good stuff and make my purchase worth while or do I bin it and buy a real bike.
    I am open to suggestions.
    I would throw £500 at the bike I have now.
    Or i will keep it and buy a proper bike from the people that know I.E you lot, and not tell the mrs.
    My criteria is this.
    I will be going down hill proper and also dicking around on the street please help me out. Im an old fart and one to get it right
    Thanks in advance and I look forward to your response.
    Al aka happydaze.

jam-bo

Cant polish a turd.

snotrag

If its this thing –

Bin.

The £500 you have is enough to buy/build a perfectly usable little hardtail.

bruneep

happydaze3481
    Free Member

Yep
    Thats my size 10 cock up.
    So judging by the positive response Ill be looking for a new ride, I hanker after a FSR any suggestions.

stuartlangwilson
    Free Member

Get that horrid thing back on ebay.

Get yourself on southerndownhill and trawl through the classifieds. You will need more than £500 though.

Spesh Bighit or demo, older Intense and a few others are fsr.

Why do you want a specific linkage if you haven’t ridden a lot of DH? I wouldn’t get too hung up on which suspension design. Whats out there in the right condition at the right price is more important.

Suggest looking at Giant Glory, IH Sunday, Orange 222/223/224, etc etc.

muppetWrangler
    Free Member

Man alive! Look at the size of that saddle.

Rorschach