Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Help choosing a Tandem
  • tjemma
    Free Member

Hi Just wondered if there is anyone to give me some advice in choosing a tandem. Im starting at the lower end of the budget & need a child back or something with a lower stoker position for daughter with downs syndrome. I have a choice of two. Thorn Voyager Child back or Dawes Duet. Anyone?

Bunnyhop

We have a Dawes and they are good.
    Ours was second hand, turned into an mtb tandem, but is now a hybrid.

thecaptain
    Free Member

I heard Argos sell a decent budget model. Not seen it yet in the flesh.

thegreatape
    Free Member

Very suspicious username…

tjemma
    Free Member

Thanks Bunnyhop.

tjemma
    Free Member

Anyone any thoughts on the Thorn Voyager? Even looking at the spec doesn’t help me (complete novice)

tjemma
    Free Member

Why is my username suspicious thegreatape?

nbt

TandemJeremy – often shortened to TJ – was banned for being naughty, then rejoined as tjagain. he’s a keen tandemista

tjemma is quite close to tjagain so i can see why people maybe suspicious

From the two you mention, the Thorn will probably be the better tandem, and will thus be more expensive, but will keep it’s value better. The Dawes however is a perfectly acceptable alternative. Bunnyhop is my wife and as she says we have a dawes tandem that’s been great.

Before investing a hefty sum of money in a tandem, you may want to check out Charlotte’s Tandems, who loan tandems (at no cost) to people with disabilities. If nothing else it will allow you to make sure you are keen to continue

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

tjemma
    Free Member

Many thanks nbt.

& thanks for explaining about my user name.