Viewing 31 posts - 1 through 31 (of 31 total)
  • Help.. Are my forks goosed ?
  • renton
    Free Member

Just come to take my forks off the bike and noticed this……

I think it happened due to a worn lower bearing.

So, would you ride them or are they goosed ?

soobalias
    Free Member

i would be looking into getting a new steerer pressed in there.

i think with a new headset, i would ride them, but i would be concerned

oldtalent
    Free Member

No they would be in the bin by now.

jakd95
    Free Member

I’m usually pretty blasé about riding slightly suspect things (steerers way too short etc) but I’d think twice about riding those. I have no knowledge of what kind of stress a steerer tube is under but I wouldn’t risk it personally, could be fine though!

oldnpastit

What make of headset?

renton
    Free Member

FSA

renton
    Free Member

Could I sell them for spares or repair ?

Little bit gutted.

sillyoldman

Bin.

Tracey

I wouldn’t ride them. What make and how old. I would be looking for a good set of second hand with a good long steerer and swapping over. New steerer may not be economical depending on make.

sirromj

How thick is the material at that point in comparison with how much is worn away?

renton
    Free Member

2017 rockshox sektor gold. Done around 75 miles from new.

soobalias
    Free Member

^ ouch.

renton
    Free Member

^^^^yup.

I knew the lower bearing was worn bit it seems it has come apart on a ride and the outer race has moved and worn that groove.

Gutted.

benpinnick

If the headset has done 75miles as well I would be expecting that to be sorted under warranty.

pictonroad

I wouldn’t give up on a fork that new. One of the metal whisperers like Ben Cooper might give you an opinion on whether that can be built up with weld and ground back.

timba
    Free Member

Ouch!
    Sucking eggs time, but check your headtube/bottom cup depending on type

renton
    Free Member