• This topic has 14 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by Pook.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Help appreciated
  • falk1
    Free Member

Right, I'm getting dizzy reading bout all the bikes out there. Am almost a complete novice. I'm ust to riding round towns but want to get into biking round trails. Anyone suggest a good starter bike, at decent price?

wwaswas

I think you're best bet is to find a good, local, shop and go and see what they recommend, sell and support.

If you're new to all this having a good relationship with a local retailer will probably save you both money and heartache..

RealMan
    Free Member

What's a decent price? Can change depending on if you're a millionaire or a shop assistant..

Have a look at the boardman range at halfords though. Good value starter bikes.

highclimber
    Free Member

do you have a budget in mind? you thinking Hardtail (front suspension only) or Full suspension?

you will get more for your money if you stick with the Hardtail setup and it will make you a better rider in the long run than going for a full sus IMO

a good baseline would be about £500 for a good Hard tail with 80-100 mm of travel. you can get a bargain on here if you don't mind going for a second hand bike.

donsimon
    Free Member

I would think that the Rockrider from Decathlon would be a good staring point, again, what is the budget?

z1ppy

What's your price range?

Carrera Vulcan V-brake from Halfrauds would be the cheapest MTB I'd naormally buy/recommend for off-road use, £270 at the moment – but that decathlon for £200 looks a bargain.
    Both would be a good place to start and upgrade from, as you need to.

Best recommendation at this point would be make sure you get a frame that fits you well, nothing worse than starting on one that too big (like I did).

molgrips
    Free Member