Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Help
  • elliot0
    Free Member

Can anyone help me. I'm in desperate need of a fixed gear road bike and I'm thinking of getting this one. the problem is that I'm a bit new to this so I'm not sure if it's a good deal. can anyone check it out and give me some feedback?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VIKING-ROAD-FIXED-WHEEL-FIXIE-SINGLE-SPEED-CITY-BIKE-/330455375547?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_Bikes_GL&var=&hash=item7dbb104d0e#ht_4131wt_989

tommid
    Free Member

That is a huge piece of dog turd.
    If you want a cheap Fixed gear bike (I'm not sure why you'd be in desperate need of one) then look at a Fuji Track or Giant Bowley.

elliot0
    Free Member

thanks. i've only recently started cycling to work and my bike not too up to scratch. a road bike would do great justice, especially living in bristol where the roads are so bike friendly. anything i should be looking out for in particular?

ahwiles
    Free Member

one with a freewheel? – you idiot.

sorry, i just looked closer, it does have a freewheel option.

apologies.

bristolbiker
    Free Member

especially living in bristol where the roads are so bike friendly. anything i should be looking out for in particular?

Bike friendly, er, yes, but if you're going anywhere near the north of the city the one thing you should be looking for is a bloody low gear!!! As tommid says – why the desparate need for fixed?!?!

elliot0
    Free Member

i live on Whiteladies at the moment and the bike i have has a slow puncture in the front wheel and its stuck in top gear, it is bloody hard to get up park street i'll give you that! but doable. the only reason for fixed was that I thought it maybe cheaper? I'm really just looking for something second hand, i don't wish to spend more than 200 on it, I've posted a wanted on here but had no replies, any thoughts on where i may be able to get my hands on one? doesn't have to be fixed

bristolbiker
    Free Member