Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Headgasket Failure Symptoms
  • spooky_b329

I'm all geared up to replace the headgasket on my 53reg Fiat Punto tomorrow, its the 1.2 8v, so a comparatively simple job (though still complex compared to a service) which is good as I've never done any major engine surgery before 🙂 Engine has done 60k and I don't have any service history.

Symptoms are:

Mayo in the oil cap, wiped it out and there was a small amount back in there after just two short journeys, about 6 miles in total.

Re-occurring air lock in the heater matrix. Not actually an air lock, but you can hear the water gurgling through it on start up, and at the bleed point by bulkhead there is air in the coolant. Heater still works. I have drained and refilled coolant and bled, matrix still gurgles on startup unless its bled after the previous run.

Coolant loss. It was below minimum at the last check, and has lost a bit in the last week since topping up, though not enough to reach minimum again. Temp gauge has never indicated anything out of the ordinary, but then if its short on water the engine may have overheated locally? Or it might not have overheated at all and I caught the low coolant before any damage was done – fingers crossed.

The only thing that is stopping me from ploughing in and getting on with it, is the car is running fine with no issues.

fatsimonmk2
    Free Member

Oh dear don't want to be the bearer of bad tidings but Punto's have ally heads on them and if you have all of the above sysmptoms then you will have a cracked head this is not a maybe you will.
    You can get these welded and skimmed but it is fu*king expensive and doesn't always work so then you need a new head and head bolts and gasket kit and this all adds up.

p.s i know this to be FACT as my wife did to our Punto and boy was it a pain in the arse and iam a mech engineer good luck

edit :- no longer have this car as it was a right peice of sh*t(friday afternoon job)

br