Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Hardtail choices
  • muttley109
    Free Member

Hi all,

I’m completely new to mountain bikes having come from the skinny tyred lycra wearing side. I’ve been researching what i’m going to buy as a first bike and I think I’ve narrowed it down to two bikes.

Sonder/Alpkit Transmitter (£1400, SRAM GX, 120mm Yari fork, Reverb dropper, 650b+ Boost wheels)
    or
    Bird Zero TR (£1550, SRAM GX, 130mm Pike Fork, No dropper, 650b wheels)

It isn’t possible to try either of these before I buy unfortunately.

I’m in south wales so i’m going to be riding at the local trail centres and around Brecon.

I’m struggling here so any thoughts from you guys could possibly help or possibly make it worse!

Any other suggestions are also welcome.

Thanks

Ben

qwerty
    Free Member

Whyte 905

jambalaya
    Free Member

I’d pesonally be more tempted by the Bird as the forks should give you a bit more around the local descents. IMHO the lack of dropper should not be too much of an issue as Wales is more up up up then down down down (ie longer climbs descents).

In terms of other bikes I am a very happy Cotic customer amd for £1650 you can get a Soul or BFe – they have some demo days coming up very shortly if you don’t mind a drive. Bike Brechfa used to run/rent some you could check.

Ben welcome to the light from the dark side and you live in a great place for mountain biking 🙂

muttley109
    Free Member

I did see the 905RS which looks good but for £1600 only has a Yari fork and DB5 brakes.
    Both the Alpkit/Sonder and the Bird have Guide R brakes and the Bird has a pike fork.

Actually Alpkit will do the Sonder with a pike fork for £1600 aswell.

Why is it that the budget always manages to creep up a little at a time!

muttley109
    Free Member

Cheers Jambalaya!

I was in two minds over the dropper post but I think you’ve just convinced me that I don’t “need” one!

I’ll have a look at the cotics.