Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Hangling stolen goods
  • bristolbikeproject
    Free Member

Any legal experts can tell me, if my wife buys a bike in good faith on ebay and it turns out to be stolen, can i be charged with handling stolen goods?

tomhoward

You won’t. The wife….

Don’t think so, but you will have to give the bike back if the genuine owner comes along, and won’t get your money back.
    I’m not a lawyer either.
    Why would you buy a bike you think is stolen?

bristolbikeproject
    Free Member

I would never buy a bike i thought was stolen. This is sort of a hypothetical question. I dont have a wife, or a stolen bike.

Surely if the payment was made through pay pal, it would be covered against fraud?

Kato

No. Unless you know or believe the goods to be stolen when receiving them

KonaTC

Now you have asked the question – simple answer yes

granny_ring

LOL love your answer OP

poly
    Free Member

No. Unless you know or believe the goods to be stolen when receiving them

But recklessness or wilful blindness will be treated as belief. So if there is no other reasonable explanation and you make no efforts to establish otherwise it may be reasonably inferred that you should have believed them to be stolen.

You won’t. The wife….

Actually, you need to be careful there is some case law where wives have been implicated in goods that their husband acquired, because their actions suggested that they too knew them to be stolen, and they were in the marital home.

Kato

But recklessness or wilful blindness will be treated as belief. So if there is no other reasonable explanation and you make no efforts to establish otherwise it may be reasonably inferred that you should have believed them to be stolen.

Yes, if he bought it from a shady chap in the pub for example. But an eBay auction? Think you’d struggle to get a charge

madhouse