• This topic has 17 replies, 16 voices, and was last updated 11 years ago by jwt.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Handing in a notice at work
  • Offroading
    Free Member

Howdy,

I’ve never done this before so i am looking for some advice on the best way to approach the situation.

In short:

I like my job (master mechanic) i just hate the place i work. This is due to:

The equipment we have is dangerous and in serious need of repair (which they won’t do)
    They refuse to provide safety equipment despite it being illegal not to do so.
    The actual workshop is a disgrace, 1 (yes 1) of the 32 overhead lights work, power sockets are broken open with exposed live wiring etc
    The Company owner has his son running the branch i work in and he is on a permanent ego trip. We haven’t been getting on for some time now.

Now i have worked there for some time and i need the reference for my new job.

Whats the best reason to say im leaving without causing trouble ? And how do i go about it, hand it to/email it to the owner or the branch manager ?

Thanks

craigxxl
    Free Member

Just say you have been offered a better job, monies tight and you can’t afford to refuse it. Wish him well and that you’re sorry to go (even if it is a lie) but needs must.

johndoh
    Free Member

Just write a couple of lines saying you are handing in your notice with immediate effect, you will work your notice period if required and thank them for the time you had there.

No need to say any more, no matter how you feel about them right now.

Ohh, and hand in the letter by hand to your line manager.

curiousyellow
    Free Member

Do you have a contract? If you do, then have a look at it and see what the terms and conditions of it are.