Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Halfords dot 5.1 for Hope X2's
  • shanta
    Free Member

Just picked up some Helfrauds automotive 5.1 to do a bleed on my X2, buy now im home ive noticed it says it non silicone based! Is this ok to use ? Also what sthe best way to bleed them to get a really firm lever?

Cheers

kimbers

i use halfords 5.1 in all my hope brakes

no problemo

kimbers

a few aisles over you can buy presumably the same 5.1 for 3 times the price, but its mtb specific?!

shanta
    Free Member

So NON silicone is fine?

DickBarton

If it says Dot 5.1 on the tin then it is Dot 5.1 so should be fine…I hope so anyway as I’ve been using it for the last 8 years without noticing any issues with my braking!

shanta
    Free Member

Cool, cheers all.

baldman
    Free Member

Currently using Halfords DOT5.1 in my Hope and Avid brakes – not had any issues. Always buy brake fluid from car parts section, much cheaper. As long as it is DOT5.1 you can use any brand.

Onzadog
    Free Member

5.0 is silicone based. You really don’t want that in hope brakes. 5.1 is 5.1. It does the job in my brakes and has done for years.

Brianblessed
    Free Member

check the ‘how to’ video on hopetech.com

reedspeed
    Free Member

I use it in my M4’s!.

highclimber
    Free Member

5.1 is 5.1 is 5.1 – it’ll be fine

pedlad

I struggle with the second part of your post OP – I do a good bleed as per hope site, with BP wound out but then the lever still moves more than I’d ideally like – even on new pads – before biting. Winding in the BP again all the way makes it just about acceptable and the brakes then work solidly from then on.

I’d just like to know how to eliminate this excess travel like the OP I guess as my mates M4’s are better in this respect.

shanta
    Free Member

Ditto pedlad…

Stevo210
    Free Member