Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Gym sessions and recovery
  • ashleydwsmith
    Free Member

So I’m new to the gym, decided this year I need to lose weight and get fitter to enjoy riding more.

However should I be doing a day at the gym so do my routine and then a day off to allow recovery to muscles e.t.c or is this a myth?

5thElefant
    Free Member

Depends on your routine, how much rest you get and how good your diet is. But… generally, yes.

ashleydwsmith
    Free Member

Cheers 5th, I have found that there is a temptation to get over excited and go very day but don’t want to do damage.

Another question when would I start noticing changes in body shape fitness levels etc?

mogrim

You’ll probably need to leave a day between sessions when you start, unless you’re very careful with the weights you’ll almost certainly be pretty stiff the next day.

If you want to go more often just make sure you alternate legs and upper body: if you do the latter on Friday (for example) there shouldn’t be a serious problem in going for a ride on Saturday. (Unless you’re doing DH or similar where you use your arms a lot more…)

mogrim

Another question when would I start noticing changes in body shape fitness levels etc?

You probably won’t! It’s very gradual, the person who’ll notice is your mum when you go to visit her after a 2 month absence.

5thElefant
    Free Member

In the first few months you’ll be mostly improving coordination and balance. Your lifts will go up quite rapidly but it won’t be because of much muscle growth.

You should see a noticeable difference after a year. Assuming your diet and training are reasonable.

ashleydwsmith
    Free Member