Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Guitar Amps
  • 40mpg

My daughter wants to upgrade her guitar from her current classical, she’s had a go with a Yamaha APX500 which she really likes and is now top of the birthday list.

She doesn’t play to an audience, just in her bedroom mostly at present. I was wondering if its worth getting her an amp to make the most of the electric abilities of this guitar? I’ve got no experience of this kind of kit, so interested to hear whether its worth it and if so, what to look out for (probably 2nd hand if we’re forking out for a new guitar)

BoardinBob

If it’s just bedroom use, I’d recommend a digital amp rather than a tube. You can get the “sound” without having to drive the valves hard (ignoring attenuators and such like)

The Line 6 Spider amps are nice (I have the bigger ones). Look for one with a headphone output 😉

40mpg

Yeah, i’d wondered if i might be looking at sleepless nights. Headphone out is a definite 🙂

Stoatsbrother
    Free Member

Roland cube 20x or xl

Northwind

The pickup is for live amplification only, really. Occasionally recording but not that often. Though you can run them into an amp and use effects etc to get an electric guitar effect, it generally doesn’t work very well.

Stoatsbrother
    Free Member

Actually even with a nylon string electro-acoustic or an electro-acoustic ukulele you can get a whole range of sounds ranging from full on metal to pure acoustic. Go for it. It might not be the way the pros do it but It’s fun.

BoardinBob

The pickup is for live amplification only, really. Occasionally recording but not that often. Though you can run them into an amp and use effects etc to get an electric guitar effect, it generally doesn’t work very well.

Maybe I’m missing your point, but are you suggesting an amp is uneccesary for an electric guitar? 😕

Northwind