Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Graphic Designer – how do you become one?
  • BobaFatt
    Free Member

BluePalomino
    Free Member

a) buy a Mac
    b) erm.. go to art college

some people do without b, but it is probably an essential part of the 'being a creative' process. Also of course it is advantageous for the ol' CV, getting foot in job doors etc.

BigJohn

Be obsessed with art. Get full marks in art A level, Go to Brighton Uni – do Illustration & Graphic Design course.

GaryLake
    Free Member

I self taught over a few years while working as a Software engineer. Just did loads of pro bono work and built up a portfolio and took the plunge on a job app and got it. I'd always had a degree of talent for it but spent 2 years really going for it and eventually landed that role. I'm very much in digital as my developer roots are useful in getting work…

Tried freelancing for a bit after my first role but have settled back into a nice up and coming agency in Bristol and working on some really interesting gigs!

BluePalomino
    Free Member

have settled back into a nice up and coming agency in Bristol and working on some really interesting gigs!

oh and c) be prepared to use the words like 'gigs'
    🙂

GaryLake
    Free Member

lol, "true dat" 😉

binners

BluePalomino's concise answer is pretty much bang on

It shouldn't be, but it is. I've known people with degrees in graphic design who are hopeless designers, and people with no formal qualifications who are brilliant. A lot of it's just instinctive

Also: please god don't just buy a Mac and use it as a default setting. Learn to draw. Learn to conceptualize. Ask yourself what the best solution to a given brief is. If your answer is 'turn on mac' then you've got a problem

Every time i see a needlessly applied photoshop filter, a little part of me dies

grumm
    Free Member