Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 123 total)
  • Graded trails at trail centres
  • Stevet1
    Free Member

I’ve commented on this on the Gisburn topic but I think it deserves its own discussion. I am often disheartened by the grading of trails at trail centres in the UK (I’ve no experience of abroad). Specifically my experience that black graded trails normally consist of some rock gardens, a rollable drop-off or two or at the most a 1′ ledge, and some small tabletops. The definition of who a black trail is designed for is as follows – ‘Expert mountain bikers who will expect and relish technical challenges. Suitable for offroad quality mountain bikes.’ I think we are doing ourselves a dis-service by labelling the kind of trails mentioned above as ‘black’, all it does is reinforce the egos of many MTB’ers who then go onto think they are expert. I’d expect an “expert” MTB’er to be capable of cleaning technical climbs, rocky rooty off camber descents and vertical drop-offs up to 6′ with gap jumps not tabletops of about 10′, as mentioned the kind of features that are on the Gisburn forst DH track (which unfortunately features signs stating imminent death if you try and ride them without a full face…). The skills of MTB’ers lags behind those in other comparable sports such as motocross or BMX, it feels like we are really a lot closer to the red sock brigade than an adrenalin sport – which makes a lot of the kit sold seem pretty silly. I get that you can be an expert rider with no interest in this side of the sport and who can spend a day doing a massive loop in the mountains and that’s fine, you have my upmost respect. But a black route at a trail centre should test an all round rider who is comfortable with leaving the ground as well as other more traditional riding skills. At the end of the day if the above style of trail continues to be graded as black routes then all it does is cheapen the idea of what an expert rider should be capable of.

fadda