Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 45 total)
  • GPS reviews, have any of the magazines done one????
  • thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Thinking of giving GPS another go after the disaster that was my first attempt.

Have any of the mags done a review of all/some of the models? I've had a browse of some models and they just seem to be £20 cycle computers being sold for £200 because thye can tell you where you were if you plug them into a PC. I want to actualy have a line/arrow on the screen telling me where to go.

cinnamon_girl

Check out mapping software, ie download demo versions from Tracklogs, Memory Map, Anquet, QuoPro etc.

You can get pre-installed maps but I have no experience of these.

Think there was a review in the Singletrack mag not long ago.

Drac

Singletrac did it's a popular magazine you may have heard of.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    nickjb
    Free Member

The phone ones are really good and a lot cheaper if you are on contract anyway.

simon_g

My Forerunner (and I believe all the Edge ones too) can do that. The trouble is, it's not an advertised feature and when a mag has a dozen of them to review they'll stick to the info from the manufacturer. If used as intended, they are devices for recording your rides (as you say) and as a training aid that will show you your pace as a "virtual partner" relative to last time.