Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Google Now – awsumz or a privacy step to far?
  • leffeboy

I’m a bit conflicted over this. Part of me loves the tech but the grumpy old man in me is a bit afraid of the level of info. we now routinely give away.

Any Google Now users here? Is it the knees of the bees?

keithr
    Free Member

Have you actually checked Google’s privacy policy, though?

I’m a privacy/information law professional (I’m not a lawyer – but lawyers come to me for UK DPA implementation advice) – and I’m perfectly happy with the very limited personal data Google holds about me, and how it uses those data.

spooky_b329

Awesome? I’m can’t be bothered to track the movements of 20 engineers with trackers, I can’t imagine Google with its bazillion users really cares what time I’m going to work or what my favourite restaurant is 🙂

However, I don’t really use Google Now that much, but I use Android Auto and the voice commands all the time.

petefromearth

I use it loads and it generally works really well for certain tasks particularly in the car.

E.g.
    “navigate to …. “
    “Call ….. contact or business on Google maps”
    “Send WhatsApp message to …. ” Then dictate the message
    “New appointment…”

I wouldn’t be without it however I am still a bit concerned about the privacy stuff. I’ve tried seeing what can be turned off within Google settings and found that it really doesn’t work. It wants access to everything, or it won’t let you do even the simplest tasks. So I’m fairly sure Google knows more about me than I do.

leffeboy

So very helpful tx. Part of me is comfy with the I’m only a teeny tiny ant and why would they be interested in me but another part of me likes to limit what they know should they be interested. Think I might turn it on and see if it is worth the effort though

Xylene
    Free Member

It keeps trying to have me sent to jail by posting up things about the royal family that would have be charged with Les majeste here.