Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Good Scottish routes accesible by train.
  • stanfree
    Free Member

Ok so I know there have been recent threads on trail centers that can be acessed by train , but what would be the best scottish naturals that are close to train stations. Im a Scotrail driver and get free travel so why not take advantage and possibly get a pint or two then head home. Any Ideas , preferably from Perth or Stirling and below. ?

stuartie_c
    Free Member

Ben Alder circuit from Dalwhinnie Station. I’ll dig out a map in a minute or two.

Im a Scotrail driver and get free travel so why not take advantage and possibly get a pint or two then head home

…as long as you’re not driving the train ;o)

stuartie_c
    Free Member

Here we go:

BenAlderCircuit1 by stuartie_c, on Flickr

geoffj

Dunkeld & Birnam for Craigvinean, Glengarr & Loch Ordie
    Blair Atholl for Glentilt
    Aviemore for Burma Road and about a million others
    …..

Garry_Lager

Could do a Corrour to Dalwhinnie route up Ben Alder maybe. Not sure on the uisge labhair path – have it in my head that it’s rough. Overall though seems like it would be a superb ride.

stuartm555
    Free Member

All the Stirling stuff is easily accessed by train … especially Bridge Of Allan

stanfree
    Free Member

Many thanks folks , I drove up to Perth today via Fife and spotted the big forest to the left and im pretty sure It’s Pitmedden . Though the closest station is probably Ladybank so probably a non starter. I’ll definately investigate some of the offerings.

HeatherBash
    Free Member