Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • glentress – totally closed?
  • BoardinBob

I’m taking an absolute beginner out on Sunday and was planning on the blue at glentress. I knew there’s tree felling going on but I’m struggling to make sense of the closure details on the 7 stanes site.

Is everything pretty much closed or will we broadly be able to follow the blue?

richmtb

So from what I can make out.

So for the Blue

All of the singletrack climb from the trailhead is shut.

You would climb on fireroad until the bottom of Super G and then rejoin the blue route. So you would be able to ride Betty Blue, Blue Velvet and Berm Baby Berm. Then diverted down another fireroad back to the trailhead.

For the Red the same applies but you would ride up to Spooky Wood and start the descent from there. Spooky Wood, Super G, Hit Squad Hill followed by Pie Run, Magic Mushroom or The Matrix, Lombard Street, Magic Mushroom if you prefer. From the end of Magic Mushroom its back down a fireroad diversion to the trail head.

So if I was going I’d ride the Red. The Blue is reduced to 3 sections of singletrack

stevenmenmuir
    Free Member

As it’s a beginner take them to Blue Velvet and Berm Baby Been first. Maybe do them 2 or 3 times. Then take them up to Spooky Wood. If they’re doing well then you could stay on the red or go up Betty Blue. You could also squeeze in Pennels Vennel. This is all providing you know your way about or have a map.

joshvegas
    Free Member

If its a beginner go some where else.

The lower climb from the cafe to the eagles nest is shut, the diversion is a total bastard of a climb up a disused muddy forestry track that takes you to the fire road above the eagles nest.

Half the blue descent from eagles nest is also closed.

Ordinarily it’d be fine but for a beginner they’ll be hating it before they even do anything interesting.

The other thing isif they need a break at the cafe they’ll have to do the climb all over again.