Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • GIS Qualifications
  • mucker

My employer, a local authority, has offered to support up to four individuals in undertaking further education to gain qualifications which will be of benefit to the organisation.
    I believe we lack people who are able to use GIS and are suffering because of this.
    Is there anyway to gain a useful qualification in this subject for someone without a degree (I have an HND in forestry).

munrobiker
    Free Member

If you get in touch with ESRI they are doing a six week course, which I believe is free, for ArcGIS. I’m hoping to do it myself.

jam-bo

Courses on how to operate GIS or the principles behind GIS?

I did a distance learning masters with UNIGIS about ten years ago. Lots of theory, got bored of it, took a pgcert and have barely used a GIS since.

JEngledow
    Free Member

Do you have an existing GIS system which you want to be able to get more value out of? If so your best bet may be to get some specific training on that software. Try contacting the software company and ask if they offer any training.

technicallyinept
    Free Member

We have loads of GIS users at work. Most just gained experience using it as part of their undergrad degrees (something geography related).

Surely what you need is a comprehensive introduction to the GIS software your organisation uses.

Doing anything really useful with the software will likely require some programming aptitude.

DavidB
    Free Member

Get on a QGIS course. Then work hard to get your LA to bin ESRI and save us tax payers a fortune.

bigjim

Yeah ESRI do various training courses and the first one I did was full of local authority staff. Check your organisation uses ESRI software first though. Otherwise depending where you are there are a variety of training courses etc offered

soma_rich
    Free Member

Get on a QGIS course. Then work hard to get your LA to bin ESRI and save us tax payers a fortune.