Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Giant Anthem Advanced 5.2 vs Canyon Lux CF 8.9
  • Kryton57

The Giant

The Canyon

One of these two might replace my ASR5 I think, for general forest singletrack & some racing/24’s next year. I’m leaning toward the giant with the Giant on reputation and customer service. FWIW I’d also lean toward overall comfort more than raceability – I’m not a pro!

Anyone able to comment on the ride characteristics or either / one vs the other, and particulalry SRAM vs Shimano? I’m currently 100% shimano, no experience with SRAM.

Thanks in anticipation…

Kryton57

Bump…. Someone must have ridden one of these… and used SRAM & Shimano?

mrblobby
    Free Member

I’d rather buy a Giant, but if 24hr racing I’d go for the 29er.

FWIW I’ve always had SRAM shifting on all my mtb’s (mostly X0 and X9) and I’ve never had any issues with it (other than the old X0 carbon cage rear mechs that had a habit of exploding.) Though chainsets have always been XT or XTR. The Giant comes with Avid’s which is enough to put a lot of people off, though easy enough to change.

Edit… I’ve used both SRAM and Shimano (comparing X9 and XT) and the feel is different. If you go to SRAM from Shimano then it’ll probably seem heavier and clunkier and maybe not as smooth as XT. I like it though as it’s a very definite shift. They both work well IMO but the feel is definitely different.

njee20
    Free Member

Canyon for my money.

You just have to try SRAM shifting, it’s much more ‘positive’ than Shimano. A much snappier shift, sometimes with Shimano I find myself wondering if I’ve actually changed. You’ll never have that with SRAM. Neither is better though, despite what most threads will have you believe.

Personally, all things being equal, I’d have Shimano. But I do like my XX1.

dyls

If you wait a month or so youll probably get the anthem advanced 1 carbon for less than the canyon in the sales. Thats full xt and fox fork.