Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Genesis IO-ID owners?
  • muddyfunster
    Free Member

Hi all, thinking of getting one of these for putting the miles in this winter. I’ve had a search but thought I would fire up a thread to ask a few questions.

I think I am pretty much sold on it but have a few niggling queries. First off, has anyone fitted a longer fork to it? I’m worried that it’s just a bit steep for tackling more tricky lines.

Also, I have no experience of the M575 brakes – how do they stack up? I’ve used plenty of shimano brakes before but I’m a bit wary of these seeing as they are below deore. Lastly how do people rate the stock tyres for uk conditions?

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes time to answer.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

If they’re the same brakes as on the IO singlespeed, then they’re very good indeed! 🙂

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

I just checked the SS runs BR486 brakes. So the IO ID ones are better! So that’s very good I think 🙂

And looking at the forks (Recon Race) I’d bet there’s a very good chance you can up the travel on them by removing a spacer from inside. I bought some used OE Recons recently, set at 80mm. I took the big stack of spacers out and got 140mm out of them. I imagine these will be the same.

You can then faff to your hearts content with the travel for precisely £0.00. 🙂

muddyfunster
    Free Member

PeterPoddy – Member

If they’re the same brakes as on the IO singlespeed, then they’re very good indeed!
    Excellent, cant see me needing loads of stopping power in the muddy slop I ride in but want to sure they are half decent.

I’ve ridden an altitude 30 which felt really good, I think it the io-id has basically the same geometry apart from the shorter fork steepening the head angle. Or at least I hope so.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member