Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Fund Raising Idea
  • jolmes
    Free Member

So the Mrs has me doing the Prudential RideLondon100 in July for Bliss, good for me as its another 100 miler to add to the list of sportives and money to a decent charity etc.

However, I’ve never done anything for charity before let alone done any sort of fund raising so its a bit of a moral step up for myself especially after receiving so much support from Bliss when our son was born early.

Anyway, she has an idea of getting people to either run or bike a certain distance (5k for a run or 20 miles on the bike), post a screenshot of the event in strava/runkeeper etc  to us, pop ~£10 in a justgiving account and receive a custom designed medal in the post.  Shes planning on getting 100 medals…

I like the idea but not sure how it would take and feel more like the standard bake sale, waxing of hair etc would be better.

Any opinions?

Joe

jolmes
    Free Member

Not one single response, wow.

zilog6128

You want people to pay you £10 to do a Strava activity? Good luck!

molgrips
    Free Member

Yeah, struggling to see the appeal tbh.  Why not just ask people to donate?  They usually do.

jam-bo

The bliss team are really good at helping you set up fundraising events etc.

But the standard shake a tin in front of family, friends and work colleagues worked for me.

johndoh
    Free Member

Seems weird to me too – rather than ‘give me money’ it’s ‘do something AND give me money (ohh and get a pointless medal that only a kid would be excited to get)’.

Do you have to raise funds for that particular charity? If not, just say ‘I am doing a bike ride, show your support by giving something to a charity that means something to you’.

jolmes
    Free Member