Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Fun at the airport – and breath and smile and get a beer…
  • mikewsmith
    Free Member

Rambling/sharing

Arrived nice and early at the airport to head off on holiday a couple of weeks back. Nice lady at check-in pointed out I didn’t have a return ticket (was waiting to confirm some work stuff before booking) and as I was a brit on a British passport I needed a rtn ticker to get into NZ… Apart from I am an Australian resident and that covers it. Apart from they don’t put a sticker in your passport anymore… Agreed I’d probably be fine and got a note on the ticket saying it was my fault if I’m not allowed in (my cost to get home) short hop to Melbourne done and time for passport control, heaps of problems getting the passport to scan but eventually checked and waved through all fine.

Awesome holiday though nothing more of it, booked return flight and turn up at the lovely and tiny Rotorua airport this morning (30 mins before the check in staff) getting checked in and scans the passport, there is a problem sir…
    Has my visa/resident proof handy but that’s not enough, she has to go phone Canberra, 5 mins later back for more details – there are a few Michael Smith’s in the world.
    A long long 5 mins and I’ve sent my mate to get some tea. It appears Mr Smith that you didn’t leave Australia how did you get here? (they still haven’t turned on airport WiFi so it’s scrabbling round to get the flight number) another 10 mins passes (thankfully it’s 100m from check in to the plane and no security for domestic (it’s OK bro is NZ) she finally comes back still no record but there is an official government override code that gets me out of their airport.